Advices for speeding up engrave process in brass (leather stamp for embossing)

Thread: Advices for speeding up engrave process in brass (leather stamp for embossing)

Default Advices for speeding up engrave process in brass (leather stamp for embossing)

Hello guys, I'm a newbie in CNC world, a afew months ago I bought a 900x600mm CNC (2.5kw spindle, NEMA 34 steppers), in the last few months I have milled different things in aluminium and plastic, now I need to make some brass stamps and I think is extremely slow (I tried speeding up but but breaked the tip of a few Vbits)

Usually for most of my operations I like to work with cambam, but for those stamps I think vectric is better (or my cambam knowledge is not enough), the problem is that either I can't find the option or there is no option to set the amount of stock to leave after the clearance operation, beacause I think the default value is to high.

I attached a photo so you can see the toolpaths one by one, I have 2 different operations but both operation have a different clearance tool.

1. 2mm endmill with a 5mm endmill clearance tool
    2. 0.2mm Vbit with a 0.5mm Vbit clearance tool

I don't want to discuss about the first operation as it's not too slow, but the second operation , especially with 0.2m vbit is quite slow, I want to ask you what feeds you guys use for tools small as this: 30 degree vbit with 0.2mm tip. I use
    - Feed of 1mm/second,
    - Plunge: 0.5mm/second
    - Stepover :0.08mm,
    - Pass depth: 0.1mm

I really appreciate any help from you guys, what settings do you use when mill brass with so sharp tools ? And where do you buy the vbits from or what brand ?

The lines on the top where the horse is drawn are 0.14mm thick, the letters differ but for example, the letter T is 0.7mm thick.

Any advices are welcome as now my CNC is running for ~ 7 - 8 hours to finish a stamp like this

Similar Threads: