Do we have control over the G-Code created ?

Thread: Do we have control over the G-Code created ?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Do we have control over the G-Code created ?

I was looking at the G-Code generated and I was wandering if we have some control over it ... like making it more readable by humans with spacing, letting the ON/OFF of the spindle be there or not (not just starting it as I found in my first trial lol) (newbie here).

Just wandering if there is an interface somewhere to view the G-Code as text in Aspire ... did I mis something ?

If not, do you know of any editor that highlights what it recognises as G-Code ?

Nice work by the way !

Mike.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Gcode is an ascii text format that is viewable and editable in most plain text editors like MS Notepad. It can be viewed in CAM programs like Mach3, but Aspire generates the gcode files using specific post processors for certain machines.

Depending on the software the gcode is generated by it may or may not have line numbers. That depends on the post processor that is used to write the code for a specific machine. Many people hand code their gcode files for fairly simple projects but a million plus lines of code is not unusual for Aspire projects involving 3D models.

In Mach3, Machine codes (M codes) - M3 is spindle on clockwise, M4 is spindle on counterclockwise, M5 is stop spindle rotation. There are online tutorials on writing gcode and there are many books on the subject.

CarveOne
    http://www.carveonecncwoodcraft.com

Downloads
    Uploads

Gcode is just a text file and can be simply opened by clicking on it, and edited manually sith simple text editors.

Do s search on text editing and you can find out how to do search and replaces very easily or any number of edits.

Good luck you are entering a life long hobby.

Mr Chips

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Thanks for the rely

I knew that it was text ... I opened it !