Newbie GCODE Z-height zero changes during cut

Thread: GCODE Z-height zero changes during cut

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default GCODE Z-height zero changes during cut

Hello,

(bear with me i am new to all this) i am just messing about learning my routers feeds, speeds and software etc and all was going well until tonight.

I have a old chopping board sitting about and wanted to carve on a "Beef cuts" chart - i just did a quick bitmap to vector, did a v-bit path and during the cut the Z-Height zero goes to pot and ends up being 10mm higher than where i zeroed it at the start meaning it only cuts half the model.

i have re-done the paths twice and re-loaded it etc a few times but still goes all tits up, but i dont think its the machine or Mach3 as i cut a few things after and they went through fine.

anyone got any ideas what i may be doing wrong?

here are links to the files;
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0By...GM0VzlzY1BsdnM
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0By...nRPVGJDSkhSRnM

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: GCODE Z-height zero changes during cut

What does the Z DRO say you are at? With no idea of what controller you have its not possible to give much guidance. If its the g-code the DRO position would show to be at the wrong height. If your Z does not match the DRO then you have some how gained steps (not real easy to do) . It Might indicate a loose coupler but it might also be a problem from noise getting to your Z driver. ANy time the actual postion is different than the DRO position then you have either gained or lost mechanical position. Normally lost steps occur on the up lift on Z and it ends up LOWER than the Z indicates. Gaining position would me its getting steps not being sent by the software OR you are losing steps going down....not likely

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads