PDA

View Full Version : Noob Alert or Run while you still can!

anoah
05-09-2003, 10:55 AM
Hi guys,

Just found this group and have read until my eyes hurt. I love it!

I worked in a woodshop that had 3 CNC Routers for a little over 5 years and now that I work at a metal fab shop I want to build my own cnc router.

I have some questions if you don't mind!

I plan to use the following software:

Generic Cadd from Corel. I love this CAD program and it can save standard DXF files.

ACE Converter: To convert the DXF files to GCode

TurboNC to drive the NC

I have already designed my frame and gantry and now I need to get on with the electronics. I plan to use threaded rod to drive the X and Y axis. Is the acceptable? (Speed is not a critical issue for me)

I am a experienced electronics builder and I want to build my own 3 Axis driver boards. Are their any reliable schematics/Board file projects/plans that are compatible with TurboNC? If so, could you please post a link.

I plan to hit a local printer repair shop to see if I can get some motors from some old HP LaserJet 3's. If I am not successful there does anyone know of a reasonably priced source for these motors?

And last but not least (for now anyway) what would the specs be for a good powersupply to drive this unit?

Thanks for all your time and I hope to share a success story with you soon. :)

Albert

cncadmin
05-09-2003, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by anoah
Hi guys,

Just found this group and have read until my eyes hurt. I love it!

Albert

I glad you love it! Just don't hurt you eye's I need you as a member. LOL :D

castguy2003
05-09-2003, 02:19 PM
If you insist on using threaded rod, make sure to get the heat treated, non plated type. Standard zinc plated threaded rod is very soft and made to low tolerances. The heat treated stuff might be harder to find but it's out there. Try a Farm & Fleet store if you have any in your area.

anoah
05-09-2003, 03:00 PM
Castguy2003: