PDA

View Full Version : HELP!Question about stepper motor sz



dmoore3008
05-01-2003, 11:49 PM
I have built a 5' by 9' (feet) sized gantry router, that uses two stepper motors (60 oz torque, each) for the x-axis, connected to a 1" ballscrew and rod... My question is- Will this machine be underpowered ? I plan to use this cnc router for cutting plywood and some plastics. HELP ! I'm at a cross roads!

cncadmin
05-02-2003, 12:34 AM
Yes 60oz is way to low in torque so it would be under powered, I would use 300 in oz or more.

balsaman
05-02-2003, 05:34 PM
What he said.

You could try it, but I doubt it will even turn those big screws. If it turns it will be very slow.

How hard are the screws to turn by hand? If you han turn them by hand with two fingers without too much trouble then maybe...

My 12" x 24" machine uses 1 - 100 oz. motor per axis. I used 1/2" x 10 acme rod.

Eric