PDA

View Full Version : itsy bitsy tiny CNC engraver (cheap)

BeanO
10-29-2003, 12:42 AM
OK...
I know it's a waste of time....but,

I would like to build a itsy bitsy tiny CNC engraver (2"x2" table).

I'm a CNC programmer, at a machine shop, I want to build this engraver for absolutely no good reason whatsoever. (my definition of a hobby). OK, I think it might be kinda cool...

At the shop, we have BobCam, and I have the freeware version of Kcam, which will control a stepper motor controller.

Kcam says that it can control a stepper motor controler from my printer port.

I also have three stepper motors (12 volt) VERY tiny, with 2"
long lead screws, (from old 5 1/4 floppy drives), 4 wires into each

What i still NEED is a cheap (hobby priced) 25$ to 125$ interface (??? STEPPER MOTOR CONTROLLER ???), and some hints as to how to hook it up...

PS... i'm not really an electronics person..but i kinda, sorta understand transistors and diodes...

Thanks for any help and hints.

NeoMoses
10-29-2003, 07:14 AM
unfortunately, I don't have much help for you along the lines of stepper motors/drivers. I'm just going to say that I don't think this is a waste of time. As long as you're learning from it, nothing's a waste of time. This would be a great way to start off building a first machine, 'cuz it won't bankrupt you. :)

I'm guessing you'll probably build this to accept a dremel or some other small engraving tool? My first thought, however, is that 2"x2" is going to be very small. When you say 2x2, I hope you mean travel, and not overall table size. My recommendation would be to go just slightly larger on your travel, perhaps 4x4 or so if you can. you'll be amazed at how much more you can fit in the machine, and you shouldn't have to worry much about stiffness with it being so small.