PDA

View Full Version : UK router spindle?



kong
08-11-2003, 04:44 PM
I'm in the proces of designing/collecting for a nice aluminium router, and I need a nice spindle. I'm looking for 1800watts, with 1/2" capacity. Does anyone know where I can get a removable-head type router in the UK? The only one I have found so far is the DeWalt dw-627 (http://www.machines4wood.com/detail.html?URN=2513&catID=186), but with no variable speed, and a strange "M12 x 1mm" chuck, I would rather get something else. Incidently, if anyone has any info on the chuck, could they let me know how/what it is please!

HuFlungDung
08-11-2003, 05:31 PM
Hi Kong,

M12 x 1 sounds like a thread mount for a chuck, 12mm diameter, 1mm pitch :)

kong
08-11-2003, 06:07 PM
Yeah, the spec on the dewalt website says m12x1 collet chuck, but would this mean you can get collets for it, or would it take screw-in tpe cutters? I am not familiar with chucks and such so I may sound real stupid!:eek:

HuFlungDung
08-11-2003, 06:11 PM
No, I think you would just need to find a collet chuck that has a M12 x 1mm pitch threaded hole in its backside to screw onto the router spindle.

I could be wrong, it is difficult to tell from the description, it calls it a collet which means it already has a collet chuck end. Can you phone them and ask about it?

rab
08-12-2003, 10:43 AM
I'm in the UK and have just recieved a couple of Bosch routers from the US, models 16181 and 16186 as they seem quite popular, they're 2HP and relatively quite and light.
I'm in the middle of making up some mounting brackets for them so if you ask me next week I'll let you know how well they work in practice.

Regards,

Rab

http://www.rainnea.com/cnc.htm

kong
08-12-2003, 11:35 AM
Cheers Rab, I've looked at the Bosch ones, the Makita also look promising as do the Porter-cable. Do they work from a standard "building site" transformer, or will I need to get a special one - I'm only thinking of the 50/60Hz cycle difference if it matters!

rab
08-12-2003, 11:46 AM
I'm counting on the 'building site' transformer working, from what I know the 50/60 Hz difference should'nt make much difference.

Rab

PS. Bosch do a 250V model as well although I don't know if it's single or 3-phase.

kong
08-24-2003, 12:55 PM
Rab, just wondering if you managed to get your US router working yet? If so, did the building site transformer work, or did you have to buy a new one? Thanks!

rab
08-24-2003, 03:23 PM
Hi,

I just started using it this morning, and I'm quite pleased with its performance.
the site transformer works fine on both the fixed speed and the variable speed version.
I can take a photo of the mounting I made if you like.

Rab

http://www.rainnea.com/cnc.htm

kong
08-24-2003, 03:26 PM
That's excellent news, I will now wait for the missus to go out, then I can order the Porter-cable 7518 for a ridiculously cheap $279.99 from amazon.com. I would like to see the router mount if it is no problem. Thanks.

rab
08-25-2003, 08:34 AM
Here's a couple of pictures of the router with mounting bracket

http://www.rainnea.com/tobeemailed01.jpg
http://www.rainnea.com/tobeemailed02.jpg

Regards
Rab.

kong
08-25-2003, 08:53 AM
Yeah, I like that. Very professional!:D

Ken_Shea
08-25-2003, 10:11 AM
Hi,
I am wondering if there is a overheating issue on these units when using for long periods, what is the longest you have run them under cutting conditions non stiop?

Thanks
Ken

kong
08-25-2003, 10:19 AM
Not sure if that question was directed at routers in general, or the Bosch? Anyhow, I think HomeCNC said he ran his for about 7 hours non-stop, and the motor wasn't that hot.

rab
08-25-2003, 11:27 AM
Too soon to say as I've only just started using the Bosch, but after an hour or so it was just warm, but I would'nt expect overheating to present any problems.
It has a good air flow going through it drawn from the top and exiting around the base.

Rab