PDA

View Full Version : Need Help! Help simplifying a Dyna Myte 4400

Shea al'Thor
09-13-2011, 10:51 PM
hey all,
I'm a high school student currently doing PSEO classes through collage and in one of my engineering classes the instructor gave me a challenge to get an old no longer used Dyna Myte 4400 working again. The machine works just fine but is such a PITA to use due to the programing it uses (conversational) that it hasn't been used for years. My professor has challenged me with either finding a post processor that will work with the current programming to convert g code to conversational or to find a new system that will work with the mill. According to my prof. Dyna Myte said that they could convert or sell a conversion kit or something like that for around $15k but the mill is barely worth that.... I'm thinking that the collage would be willing to pay around 5k maybe to get it working again.
I was browsing the forums and I saw something about a kit from Ah-ha that would convert it over but I think that its discontinued.
Any help is better than what I have now so fire away :)
Thanks
Shea

mfgbydesign
09-14-2011, 02:40 PM
Tell us what CAD/CAM system you need a post processor for. If the machine is working that's your shortest path and free. I was successful in downloading Mastercam X post and modifying it to work on my DM2800. I then evaluated DNC packages, found one for free (NCLink) that I configured to work with the control to run programs longer than 900 lines. Since it's a school and according to your profile in Minnesota I might be able to make a visit and help you out.