PDA

View Full Version : 1st post! looking for advice on dyna 2400



poorfarmer25
09-09-2011, 09:42 PM
:wave:Hello I have just purchased a dyna knee mill, I have so far tested everything but the probe and it has worked very well.

I am wanting to connect it to a computer via rs232, after spending about 4 hours searching for information. I believe that it can be done with a cad program and post processor and sent via cable to the controller.

If someone could explain this to me a little clearer I would appreciate it very much, or if you know a better way that it could be done please tell.

poorfarmer25
09-10-2011, 10:05 AM
I have been reading more on the forum is it possible to connect to mach 3 via rs232 and no hardware modifications?

Please reply soon I have to decide if I'm going to keep this machine or not.

poorfarmer25
09-13-2011, 04:43 PM
Hello This is some information I found earlier, Can anyone tell me if the pin outs he described are modifications to the cable or if they are software settings. I am downloading nclink and hope to try it soon


What is needed to retrofit Dyna 2200 and 2400 macines (http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php?topic=18800.0)


Scott,
I use NCLink (free download, no spam) from OneCNC.net with a MC post set up to output programs longer than 900 lines.
RS232 Pin-Outs:
1 - 1
2 - 3
3 - 2
4 - 5
5 - 4

Start NCLink, open the .nc file (do not send yet).
Send Settings:
2400 Baud
8 Bit
Even Parity
1 Stop Bit
RTS/CTS Handshake on
Remove spaces UNCHECKED
Line delay 5 ms

Dyna Line Mode, Read/Write, Download, Program Execute. Display's Ready.
Go to NCLink and Send File. File transfers until line 900, machine runs, pauses while DNC downloads the next 900, etc. Works Great!