PDA

View Full Version : Which axis needs more torque (X,Y,Z)??



campaX
07-30-2003, 04:56 PM
Hi, I'm willing to build one of this machines for a school project.

I need to know which axis needs more torque (X,Y,Z)??

because I have diferents types of stepperes, I need to know which motor use in each axis.

On this kind of machine:

balsaman
07-31-2003, 01:37 AM
I would put the lightest one on the z. x and y get the heavier steppers.

If x and y steppers are different, put the lighter one on the moving table.

Eric

campaX
07-31-2003, 02:46 AM
Thanks, that's what I needed to know.

PD: I love your machine.

balsaman
07-31-2003, 03:04 AM
Thanks, me too....:)

Eric

keithorr
07-31-2003, 03:28 PM
I would put the strongest on the moving table axis. There is potentially more mass to move then the cross axis holding the router and z axis.