Alphacam importing clip-art, the right way

Thread: Alphacam importing clip-art, the right way

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Alphacam importing clip-art, the right way

Hello, I'm rather new around here as you can tell ...

I've been following these forums for a while now tho and it helped me a lot in multiple cases but now I need help with something.

Im somewhat new to the CNC world, been working on a Paolino Bacci Master.TGV machining center with 6 interpolated axes for almost 2 years now. I've done pretty well for the most part and I'm learning something new everyday but I've hit a wall now ... I've spent weeks trying to find a solution to this problem.

A few months ago I started to utilize Alphacam Ultimate Router 2013 R1 SP2 and its an amazing piece of software, however, I often have some specific request from our clients. More often than not, it involves drawing/machining of a specific shape on a piece of wood.

For this example, I will utilize the following clip art : http://images.clipartpanda.com/coffe...fee-cup-md.png
    It looks ok in its current form but in order to import it into Alphacam I need to convert it to another format, DXF for instance.

I've tried with several free converting tools and while they do their job, whenever I import the converted files in Alphacam, it usually ends up looking like this : http://i.imgur.com/mBA1pcR.jpg

Now, thats obviously not good ... I've been trying to figure this one out for a while now with no success. I usually end up just drawing the shape myself but that takes a lot of time.
    I remember seeing someone importing images/shapes/whatever without a problem using Alphacam which means Im doing something wrong ...

Drawing by hand is ok for simpler shapes but when something more complex is requested I just refuse to do it.

Any help on the matter would be great.

Thanks!

Similar Threads: