3d engrave with a flat bottom?

Thread: 3d engrave with a flat bottom?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 3d engrave with a flat bottom?

I am using Alphacam 2014R2 essentials router. I have to make a sign for a guy at work that is retiring. They want it to be cut with a 90 degree V-bit .500" deep. The problem is the that the sign is 75"x30"x1" made out of some pretty expensive wood. There will only be one shot to cut it so it has to be right the first time. With the 45 degree bit it will cut the inside of all the letters with the 3d engrave but then it leaves sections in the middle of the letters that are not cut. They want those sections to have a flat bottom. This is my first time doing any 3d engraving or lettering at all. Everything else I cut is pretty basic. I have tried pocketing with the V-bit and it doesn't work. Nor does pocketing with a 1/8" end mill leaving .500" material for the V-bit. It cuts off parts where the V-bit should be cutting.

Attached is a DXF of what I am trying to cut. Any ideas on how to program this sign?

The end mills I have are 1/2, 3/8, 1/4, 3/16, 1/8 all 2 flute flat bottom and a 90 degree Vbit

Material top 1"
    Final depth .500"

Similar Threads:
    Attached Files Attached Files

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: 3d engrave with a flat bottom?

Hi - it's quite easy - if you attach the AlphaCAM Drawing you have made, with the tools inside (doesn't matter that it's not correct programmed - just to work further on this) Then I can make a small video of what to do... -I don't want to confuse You, with an example with my tools etc. as I work in Metric - not in Inches :-)

Downloads
    Uploads

Answer sent :-)

Downloads
    Uploads

This can be a bit tricky - because AC can have some problems when running around sharp internal corners, it loves to round them.. therefore I do an offset, so I can decide where it must go.